The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) elects Jacquelyn Drozdoff of The Wall Street Journal as new Chairwoman and announces 2017 Board

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) today held its 34th Annual General Meeting. SOPA is delighted to announce the election of new Chairwoman Jacquelyn Drozdoff of The Wall Street Journal, and new Honorary Treasurer Susie Pattison of Fortune Magazine. Ms. Lillian Kung of Bloomberg was re-elected as Honorary Secretary and S.K. Witcher of The New York Times will continue to serve as Chair of SOPA’s distinguished Editorial Committee.

SOPA is a Hong Kong-based non-profit representing international, regional and local media companies across Asia, and is dedicated to recognizing and upholding best practices in professional publishing throughout the region.

“I’m very honored to serve as SOPA’s new Chair. I look forward to working closely together with SOPA’s dynamic Board and supporters to successfully deliver the 19th annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence this coming June, as well as a number of exciting events and forums in 2017,” said Ms. Drozdoff.

SOPA’s annual awards honor outstanding journalism, celebrating the highest standards of journalistic integrity across Asia. SOPA also delivers a range of initiatives and events– including its signature Media Insider Series–to promote freedom of press, dialogue and innovation across Asia’s publishing industry.

The Board thanked outgoing Chairman Raymond Warhola of China Daily for his many contributions over the past two years, including playing a key role in expanding SOPA’s membership base and Board, an in securing both new and returning annual sponsors.

SOPA’s 2016-2017 Board comprises:

  1. Chairwoman: Ms. Jacquelyn Drozdoff (Corporate Communications Director, Asia Pacific, The Wall Street Journal & Dow Jones)
  2. Honorary Treasurer: Ms. Susie Pattison (Circulation Director, Asia Pacific, Time Inc.)
  3. Honorary Secretary: Ms. Lillian Kung, (Bloomberg Media)
  4. Ms. Inez Albert (Digital Sales Director, Asia Pacific, The Economist Group)
  5. Ms. Desiree Au (Publisher, TimeOut Hong Kong)
  6. Ms. Elsie Cheung (Chief Operating Officer, South China Morning Post)
  7. Ms. Judy Fong (Regional Sales Director, Time Inc.)
  8. Mr. Lawrence Jang (Senior Director, Forbes Asia)
  9. Mr. Alex Ko (General Manager-Business Department, Ming Pao Newspapers Ltd.)
  10. Mr. James Mirfin (Managing Director, North Asia, Thomson Reuters Hong Kong Ltd.)
  11. Ms. Helena Phua (Executive Vice President, Asia Pacific, The New York Times)
  12. Ms. Rhonda Taylor (Communications & Brand Manager, Asia Pacific, Financial Times)

Board member headshots can be found at

About SOPA:

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) was founded in 1982 to champion freedom of the press, promote excellence in journalism and endorse best practices for all local and regional publishing platforms in Asia Pacific. SOPA is a not-for-profit organization based in Hong Kong and representing international, regional and local media companies across the region. The Society of Publishers in Asia is also host to the prestigious annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence, which serve as the world-class benchmark for quality journalism in Asia.

For further information, please contact:
SOPA Secretariat
Tel: +852 3664-2719
Email: [email protected]

Issued on behalf of The Society of Publishers in Asia by Isentia Limited