The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) elects Raymond T. Warhola of China Daily as new Chairman

[December 15, 2014] – The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA), an organization dedicated to best practices in professional publishing, held their 32nd Annual General Meeting and elected Mr. Raymond T. Warhola (Executive Director, Asia Pacific, China Daily) as the new Chairman.

“This is a very exciting time for the media industry and especially for SOPA.  SOPA members are dynamic media brands recognized as industry leaders.  Collectively, we continue to champion the highest standards of excellence in content and journalistic integrity.  As media rapidly evolves, we embrace innovation and technology to best serve the information needs of our audiences.  It is an honor to be elected as SOPA Chairman. I thank the board members for their support and look forward to a successful 2015”, said Mr. Raymond T. Warhola.

David E. Smith, having served the past 4 years as the Chairman from The Economist said “I am delighted that Raymond has accepted the nomination as Chairman.  Ray has a wealth of experience in the media industry in Asia and I am confident that with his vision and leadership SOPA will continue to grow and prosper.”  David will continue to be part of the board for 2015.

All board members voted in favor of re-electing Ms. Khoon-Fong Ang (Publishing Director, TIME and Fortune, Asia Pacific) as Deputy Chairwoman, Mr. Simon Chu (Director of Operations, Financial Times) as Honorary Treasurer and Ms. Lillian Kung (Bloomberg Media) as Honorary Secretary.

SOPA welcomes a new board member, Jill Grinda, Head of Asia Sales, Reuters News Agency. Jill brings 20 years of multinational media industry experience with her to the board.  Previous to her role at Reuters, she served as Executive Vice President of CASBAA since February 2011.

SOPA Executive Board 2015 also re-elected board members are Ms. Desiree Au (Publisher, TimeOut Hong Kong), Mr. Michael Chu (Group Director, Strategic Marketing & Events, South China Morning Post), Ms. Judy Fong (Senior Digital Manager, TIME and Fortune, Asia Pacific), Mr. Lawrence Jang (Advertising Director – North Asia, New York Times Global), Ms. Anjali Kapoor (Marketing Director, APAC, Dow Jones), Ms. Anne Lim-Chaplain (Publisher and Managing Director, Hubert Burda Media Hong Kong Limited), Mr. David E. Smith (Regional Director, Advertising and Sponsorship, The Economist), and Ms. Dorothy Wong (Marketing Director, One Media Group).


About SOPA:

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) was founded in 1982 to promote excellence in journalism and best practices across all local and regional publishing platforms in Asia Pacific.  SOPA is a not for profit organization based in Hong Kong and represents international, regional and local media companies in Hong Kong and around Asia. It also hosts the prestigious annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence to set world-class benchmarks for journalism in Asia.


Issued on behalf of The Society of Publishers in Asia by New Point Marketing Limited

For further information, please contact:
SOPA Secretariat
Tel: +852 3589-9778
Email: [email protected]